Delsin bij LWE

illustration LWE

Zo gaat dat natuurlijk via internet, Dat LWE op een bepaald moment op Delsin zou stoten is eigenlijk logisch. Ik volg Delsin al een tijdje vanwege hun uitstekende techno en ook vanwege hun overzichtelijke website, ik heb er zelfs al een paar muziekjes gekocht, en niet alleen van Conforce. Ik ken Delsin eigenlijk van een memorabel feestje in de spiegeltent in Antwerpen eind augustus 2009. Een nacht om nooit te vergeten.
Het feestje heette Technoir meets Planet Delsin, met Newworldaquarium, Aroy Dee en Delta Functionen en de residents van Technir Tony Coupé en Nenuec.  Bleek natuurlijk dat Delsin al een hele tijd bezig was. 15 jaar geleden zelfs, enfin lees hieronder maar verder of op de site van Little White Earbuds

‘Delsin certainly has come along way from its humble beginnings 15 years ago. The Dutch label started with 50 cassette copies of owner Marsel van der Wielen’s own Peel Seamus productions and continued to slowly build an identity that grew from deep electronica, broken beat and electro to what it’s best known for now — post-Detroit techno charting the fringes of the galaxy. While 2010 saw a bit of a slow down and new names such as Conforce and A Made Up Sound being brought into the fold, Delsin appears to be ripe for new conquests of sound. We caught up with van der Wielen to reflect on the long, strange journey the label has taken and where he sees it leading to next. We also drafted Delsin/Ann Aimee cohort Delta Funktionen (who plays the Bunker this Friday) to mix together Talking Shopcast 10 as a special treat.

How did you first become involved in electronic music and what lead you to start Delsin originally?

Marsel van der Wielen: It probably doesn’t differ that much from other people of my age. As a young kid I was already into a lot of pop music, taping everything from radio, etc. At that time there were also those things around we simply called mixes, which was done by tape-editing if I’m correct, cutting up of all kinds of tunes. I was also into computers; I fell heavily in love with my Commodore 64, gaming and those things. With groups like MARRS and S’Express, those things kind of came together for me. I was 13/14 at that time, and we simply called it computer music. In 1988 the whole acid house explosion came along, mainly releases through the UK, introducing artists as Royal House/Todd Terry, Phuture, Humanoid, Bomb The Bass, 808 State, Fast Eddie, etc. I was kind of a DJ at a local youth culture venue — although I doubt to which degree it deserved that word — which gave me the ability to buy records and start collecting. From 1990 onwards I got more interested in less ‘party’/more listening music like Orbital, The Orb, 808 State. In 1991 it really took off for me with the whole second wave of Detroit, with Planet E, Kenny Larkin, Underground Resistance, shortly followed by the whole UK wave things as Warp/Artificial Intelligence, Aphex Twin, B12, Global Communication, etc. Around 1992 I also bought my first piece of equipment, a Roland Workstation W30. I sent some demos out to my favorite labels back then, like Eevo Lute, ART, etc. With no response, I thought, let’s release it myself.

You began with a release by yourself as Peel Seamus and on cassette. What were you aspirations for the label back then? Did you think it would grow to where it is today?

Actually that first release was also my last demo. I pressed 50 tapes, I think. Sent some as demos and sold the rest of them myself, through friends and through the Internet. With no reply to the demo, I took the next step to press the records myself. As a collector I was always already heavily into labels, the whole thing with which artists, which music, which artwork, which order, frequency of releasing, etc. A lot of other people seem a lot more into DJs, mixes and stuff, but for me, being a label boss was always a dream when buying those first records back then. But actually there’s never been a big plan; it went from release to release. When I started there was once an idea not to do any CD-releases, but to do 10 EPs or so and then quit, a bit like Basic Channel. But it seems we’re at release 84 now. …………………

Ik stel voor dat je het lange interview verder leest op de LWE-site, onderaan is er een Delta Functionen-podcast  om je lectuur te begeleiden

http://www.littlewhiteearbuds.com/podcast/talking-shopcast-with-delsin/

Nice work Marcel

Geef een reactie

