10de Mix van A Strangely Isolated Place van Nick Warren

nick warren

Een van de boeienste blogs is de A Strangely Isolated Place-blog. Wars van tendenzen en hypes houdt deze schrijver (s?) zich aan een mooi pakketje van electronische muziek. Soms vist hij bestaande mixen op uit blogs die al een tijd niet meer bestaan, of zoals laatst weet hij een plek waar je de orkestvesrie van De Classics Ambient-release van Aphex Twin gratis kan downloaden. Geinteresserd in een oude Boards Of Canada release, moet je hier grasduinen.

Dat deze al tien jaar bestaan is dan ook een fijn gegeven, het geheugen van elektronische muziek dus. Hun mix ter ere van hun tweede verjaardag van hun blog is dan ook een  mooie set van de hand van Nick Warren. Het is dan ook de tiende mix

A tenth anniversary isolated mix, a two year birthday for the blog and a very special guest: Nick Warren. There isn’t much I haven’t already said about Nick within previous posts so I will try to keep this one short. An inspiration ever since first hearing tracks such as ‘Earth’ and pretty much every other track on the Way Out West self titled album. His Back To Mine mix remains one of my all time favourite compilations (and I’m sure many of yours too) and the opening tracks to his GU mixes helped grow my love for Ulrich Schnauss, Boards of Canada and Global Communication, amongst many others. The inspiration mounted, the blog grew and two years later, there was never any doubt who should get behind this very special birthday and 10th isolatedmix. Luckily, Nick was very happy to oblige: “I have long been a fan of the ‘A Strangely Isolated Place’ website. Any fan of ambient music should make a beeline for it. When Ryan asked me to do a mix for the site I had no hesitation in saying yes and here is the result. Included are some of my favourite pieces of music including “A Blues In Drag” by The Glove, Robert Smith from The Cure and Steven Severin from Souxsie And The Banshees side project recorded back in 1983 and still sounding incredible. It was a joy putting it together and I hope you enjoy it as much as I did making it.”

Tracklisting: 1. “Crystal Lake” – Klaus Schulze
2. “Burr Dub” – Rocket Empire
3. “Neaera” – Taho
4. “Marraskuu” – Ous Mal
5. “Totems of the Red” – Harold Budd
6. “In Search Of Silver” (Ambient Mix) Nick Warren / “The Shining”
7. “Inside the Pods” – Johann Johannsen
8. “De Ushuaia A La Quiaca” – Gustavo Santaolalla
9. “A Blues In Drag” – The Glove 10. “Aqua” – Edgar Froese
11. “Months” – Oneohtrix Point Never
12. “Good Bye Forever” – Arovane / Timothy Leary samples Additional keyboard parts, synths and samples by Nick Warren



Geef een reactie

Vul je gegevens in of klik op een icoon om in te loggen.

WordPress.com logo

Je reageert onder je WordPress.com account. Log uit /  Bijwerken )

Google+ photo

Je reageert onder je Google+ account. Log uit /  Bijwerken )


Je reageert onder je Twitter account. Log uit /  Bijwerken )

Facebook foto

Je reageert onder je Facebook account. Log uit /  Bijwerken )


Verbinden met %s